Share
Share
Please select the items which you would like displayed in your pdf.
Create PDF

Waller assists entrepreneurs with the full spectrum of issues facing startups and emerging growth companies. From pre-organization and formation to obtaining financing with angel and venture capital investors through all stages of development including mergers and acquisitions, private equity recapitalization and initial public offerings, our attorneys have the experience and insight to help entrepreneurs navigate the many challenges and questions faced by new businesses, including:

  • Choosing and forming the optimal business entity – corporation, partnership or limited liability company – by evaluating tax consequences, liability protection, ownership and control issues and other considerations, including state of incorporation
  • Identifying sources of startup capital and structuring finance arrangements
  • Structuring ownership among the founders and equity-holders in closely held businesses
  • Preparing private placement memoranda and related offering materials
  • Securing and protecting valuable intellectual property rights, including prosecuting trademark and copyright registrations, drafting and negotiating key intellectual property license agreements and preparing agreements with employees and contractors
  • Preparing and prosecuting patent applications for filing in the United States and in foreign countries, enforcing and defending our clients’ patent rights, and defending against third-party claims of patent infringement
  • Structuring and negotiating the terms of private and public offerings of equity securities (such as common and preferred stock) and debt securities (such as convertible notes or debentures, secured and unsecured loans and credit facilities)
  • Preparing and negotiating contracts with other businesses
  • Negotiating, documenting and consummating mergers and acquisitions – as either a buyer or a seller

Entrepreneurs can take advantage of the full array of experience available at Waller for assistance with operational issues, including tax planning, compensation and benefits, labor and employment relations, real estate and zoning matters, government relations, immigration issues, trial and appellate practice, creditors’ rights and corporate restructuring matters. We also have long-standing relationships with investment bankers and advisory professionals that can be particularly beneficial to startups and emerging growth companies.

For early-stage companies, we offer “Waller Fast Track,” bundled business organization and patent services to get you started quickly and effectively.

For companies and individuals that provide financial backing to start-ups and early-stage companies, Waller has extensive experience working with venture capital and angel investors to:

  • Form investment funds, including working on such issues as compensation, tax, federal and state securities laws and governance
  • Structure and negotiate early-, mid- and late-stage investments in the equity or debt securities of all types of business organizations
  • Negotiate, document and consummate mergers and acquisitions involving portfolio companies
  • Assist with the restructuring, recapitalization or divestiture of portfolio companies
    Contact Us
    Nate Bailey
    Partner
    Direct  615.850.8740
    Nashville, TN
    nate.bailey@wallerlaw.com
    Blake M. Bernard
    Associate
    Direct  615.850.8791 or 901-288-1679
    Nashville, TN
    blake.bernard@wallerlaw.com
    Larry Brantley
    Partner
    Direct  615.850.8680
    Nashville, TN
    larry.brantley@wallerlaw.com
    Al Bright, Jr.
    Partner
    Direct  901.288.1652
    Memphis, TN
    al.bright@wallerlaw.com
    Matthew "Matt" R. Burnstein
    Partner
    Direct  615.850.8110
    Nashville, TN
    matt.burnstein@wallerlaw.com
    Robert R. Campbell, III
    Associate
    Direct  615.850.8716
    Nashville, TN
    rob.campbell@wallerlaw.com
    Matthew C. Cox
    Partner
    Direct  615.850.8136 or 901-288-1636
    Nashville, TN
    matt.cox@wallerlaw.com
    Ryan Franklin
    Associate
    Direct  615.850.8532
    Nashville, TN
    ryan.franklin@wallerlaw.com
    Eric B. Fugett, M.S.
    Associate
    Direct  615.850.8789 or 901-288-1649
    Nashville, TN
    eric.fugett@wallerlaw.com
    David Garcia
    Associate
    Direct  512.685.6463
    Austin, TX
    david.garcia@wallerlaw.com
    Kristen F. Johns
    Counsel
    Direct  615.850.8784
    Nashville, TN
    kristen.johns@wallerlaw.com
    Laura P. Merritt
    Partner
    Direct  615.850.8558
    Nashville, TN
    laura.merritt@wallerlaw.com
    Brent Moreland
    Associate
    Direct  615.850.8872
    Nashville, TN
    brent.moreland@wallerlaw.com
    G. Robert "Bob" Morris
    Partner
    Direct  901.288.1650
    Memphis, TN
    bob.morris@wallerlaw.com
    Mark "Andy" Pitchford
    Counsel
    Direct  615.850.8528
    Nashville, TN
    andy.pitchford@wallerlaw.com
    L. Hunter Rost, Jr.
    Partner
    Direct  615.850.8958
    Nashville, TN
    hunter.rost@wallerlaw.com
    I.C. "Jack" Waddey, Jr.
    Partner
    Direct  615.850.8752
    Nashville, TN
    jack.waddey@wallerlaw.com
    Jacob Weinstein
    Associate
    Direct  901.288.1654
    Memphis, TN
    jacob.weinstein@wallerlaw.com
    Emerging Companies Event Schedule

     

    Fast Track

    On-Demand Brochure
    Add this page to PDF Brochure
    Add Page to Brochure
    IndustriesEmerging Companies
    Current Brochure Pages
    Download Brochure